Not a quality session

I missed yesterday’s quality session because we went to see The Script and Phillip Phillips at The Dome and only got home at about midnight. I decided four and a half hours was not going to be enough sleep for a successful quality session. To make up (a little bit) for missing yesterday, I did “Emily’s Route” with the Fledgelings this morning (and left my watch at home). We didn’t go particularly far – between 7 and 8kms apparently – nor did we go particularly fast, taking about an hour to finish, but at least I got up and ran (something that I fought with all my might when the alarm went off).

I did feel a bit better having completed the run, but I still felt like I could almost immediately go back to sleep (in fact I almost fell asleep in the car on the way home). I guess on some days the battle you have with yourself about running is not whether you can or can’t do it, but whether or not you want to. And if “I don’t want to” wins out over “I want to”, the next battle you have to fight is whether or not to tell yourself to shut the f**k up, put your big girl pants on and get out there anyway. Today was one of those days. Today I cursed Jeanine and the deal I made with her. But today I got up and ran anyway, so I guess I won.

This weekend is the PnP Marathon, which is Jeppe’s official club race, so we’re all helping with marshalling and manning water points, etc. so we’re doing a 27km tomorrow. Next weekend is the big day – Secunda Marathon – and I’m quietly kakking myself. Hopefully another week of running PND will help to prepare me for the monstrous wall that will inevitably erect itself at some point in my race.

Leave a comment